Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
And Indy still hasn't answered the question, "Why not just T up team B, and get it over with?"
|
Because BOTH teams, by each one's direct actions, are trying to gain an advantage that is against the
intent of the rules!
Team B: By continually breaking 9-1 and contributing to 10-5.
Team A: By continually breaking 4-20-1 and contributing to 10-5.
Again, if each of these acts are done
mutually exclusive of the other, I'm probably saying to myself, "Good thinking" and...
...in the case of team B's mutually exclusive act, I penalize the violation. If after team B violates and they continue to violate, I warn coach B...and subsequently T coach B if team B continues to violate.
...in the case of team A's mutually exclusive act, I say "Good play!" whether they get the rebound or not.
However, in the case of A1 purposely heaving the ball off the rim with a baseball throw (or a similar act) to gain an advantage against the intent of rule 4-20-1 (to allow the free opportunity to score 1 point)
and team B purposely committing FT violations to gain an advantage against the intent of rule 9-1 (to resume play after the end of the FT), I will warn, and penalize if necessary, both teams.