I can actually support Indy's position with the rules (emphasis mine)...
9-1-3: He/she shall throw within 10 seconds, and in such a way that the ball enters the basket or touches the ring before the free throw ends.
4-20-3: The free throw ends when the try is successful, when it is certain the try will not be successful, when the ball touches the floor or any player, or when the ball becomes dead.
So, according to these two rule, when the official determines that it will not be successful and it has not yet hit the rim, it is a violation. When can the official be certain that it will not be successful? If the ball is passing below the front of the rim then hits the back iron from the bottom, I'd bet that just about anyone can tell well before it gets there. Even when it is going towards the front but below the level of the ring, it is prettly obvious.
|