View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2003, 10:46am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Indy_Ref
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
If the throw hits the rim, A has met the requirements and isn't continuing an "actionless contest."

See, for example, 5.9.3
If A1 heaves the ball off the rim by the direction of team A coach, he/she is choosing to continue to promote an actionless contest. Now, I did say the player can miss...he/she just can't throw it one-handed at 50 MPH off the rim by direct instruction from his/her coach...and did I mention that I'm standing right there as said coach tells the player this? I think that can be assumed too.

AGAIN, assume I have already warned both coaches about their (and their team's) antics!
Indy, please quote the rule that says that A1 can't throw it off the rim. There's nothing in the ulebook that says that he can't.
Reply With Quote