View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 22, 2003, 08:31pm
Dave Hensley Dave Hensley is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally posted by Cubbies87
Quote: Another frequent violation is of Rule 6.02 (b), which states, "The batter may not leave his position in the batter's box after the pitcher comes to Set Position, or starts his windup." In fact, the Playing Rules Committee has clarified this rule to mean that the batter cannot call "time' after this point "even though the batter claims 'dust in his eyes,' 'steamed glasses,' 'didn't get the sign' or for any other cause."

From: http://www.strikethree.com/99/05/01/michael.shtml

Is the rule, as well as the clarification that he wrote correct?
The writer is correct in his literal interpretation of the rule; however, he is obviously unaware of the modern custom and practice in the enforcement of the rule, and the reasons for it. Following is an explanation from Jim Evans' Baseball Rules Annotated:

Professional Interpretation: The umpire should not enforce this rule literally. Pitchers should not be able to hold the batter in abeyance for an exceptionally long period simply because he has reached his set position.
Once a pitcher starts his wind-up, time shall not be granted.

Customs and Usage: If a pitcher pauses unnecessarily in his set position or he starts his wind-up before the batter is reasonably set, the umpire shall call Time and play shall start over from "scratch".
If the umpire considers the batter's request for time legitimate and in the interest of safety, time generally should be granted. This is strictly umpire's judgment and no policy should be followed that would allow an advantage to either pitcher or hitter.

Reply With Quote