Thread: OB or Not
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2001, 01:51pm
Sven Sven is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 74
Yes and No

gymrat,

Assuming you're referring to a rectangular backboard, the top, bottom, and sides are in bounds. A ball passing over the top is out of bounds. This is true whether on a pass, try, or throw-in.

In your scenario, the ball would be live (in bounds) until it passed over the backboard or touched a support. Even during a throw-in, a ball passing over would be out of bounds and a violation would result.

Fan shaped backboards present a different set of rules. A ball passing over is still in bounds regardless of where it came from.

Sven
Reply With Quote