View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 22, 2003, 10:17am
MD Longhorn MD Longhorn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Ah, there it is. I knew it felt wrong:

NCAA 6-2-1: A free kick out of bounds untouched inbounds by a player of team B is a foul.

Add in that a player is "inbounds" until he's "out of bounds", so the airborne player is inbounds when he touches the ball, because he is not yet "out of bounds". So the ball is out of bounds where the player takes it, but it's not a foul because it doesn't meet the standard of the above rule.

This also explains why it's a foul if the kicking team does the same thing - in that case, it DOES meet the standard of the rule, in that it was not touched inbounds by a player of team B.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote