View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2003, 01:57pm
RookieDude RookieDude is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude
SITUATION 6: A1 jumps from the floor and secures a defensive re-bound. A1 then pivots toward the sideline where a teammate, A2, is standing for an outlet pass. Just as A1 releases the pass, A2 turns and runs down the court. A1 throws a soft bounce pass to where A2 was standing. A1 then moves and secures the ball without dribbling. RULING: Legal action. A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass); the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4

What if the pass was a "two-handed" bounce pass? Wouldn't this be an illegal dribble when retrieved?

RD
It's not illegal to start a dribble with two hands.
....Ahhhhh, yes...but it is illegal to continue to dribble with two hands...but that is a different situation.

I must say though, Situation 6 sounds alot like "passing to yourself." The difference is, I suppose, that a dribble has not been started in Sit. 6.(Untill the pass) If a dribble had been started by A1 then stopped by A1 and A1 passes the ball to A2, who is no longer there...then A1 could not retrieve the ball without penalty.
Correct?

RD
Reply With Quote