View Single Post
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2003, 12:42pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Sam
Simple scenario. A1 trapped at corner of divsion line and sideline. A1 spins a pass around defender, bouncing it in b/c, once again in f/c, then ball goes to A2 in the f/c. Clearly you would have a violation on this play, wouldn't you?
Tony earlier quoted the four criteria for b/c:
Ball has FC status.
Team control.
Last to touch in the FC.
First to touch in the BC.

In your scenario: ball has fc status, A has team control, A is the last to touch in fc. However, even though the ball attains bc status on the first bounce, it attains front court status again on the second bounce, then A2 touches it. So A never touched the ball in back court. So...unless my sleep deprivation is affecting my judgement, or there is a case book ruling on this that I'm not aware of, I don't think you have a bc violation because the fourth element is missing.
Let me correct #4:

First to touch the ball after it's entered the BC.

This is a BC violation.
While your at it...correct #3.

Last to touch the ball before it entered the BC.


While this may seem to imply touching the ball in the front court, it does not.

Example: A1 in the BC throws a pass towards A2 who is in the FC. The ball either hits the ref, who is in the FC, or is a bounce pass that has some spin on it, hitting the floor in the FC. The ball is not touched by any player before it bounces back into the BC. Now, if any A player touches the ball, it is a violation.

Now if you really want to get twisted, if the ball is lopsided or has a really odd spin and then bounces back the FC, A still can't touch it without a violation.
Reply With Quote