Quote:
Originally posted by canuckrefguy
The violation could only occur when B14 "batted the ball" and it touched the backcourt.
If so, when this occurred, the following 3 things must be true for it to be illegal:
Blue has team control
Blue was last team to touch ball in frontcourt
Blue is first team to touch ball in backcourt
My argument is that:
(1) Blue does not have team control (ball batted away by white therefore no control by either team)
(2) Blue is not last team to touch ball in frontcourt (white was)
If B14 was able to secure control, and while standing in the frontcourt, batted the ball into the backcourt, it is a violation.
If she only batted the ball once into the backcourt, then dribbled, my interpretation is that she didn't have control until she dribbled, therefore no violation.
|
You're wrong.
RE: your opening statement:
There is no violation when Blue batted the ball,because the ball still had front court status when Blue batted it(it was in the air but had not yet touched in the back court).Blue 14 was also in the front court when she batted it(one foot in the front court and one foot in the air). The batted ball now hits in the back court,giving the ball "back court status". Blue was now the first player to touch the ball after it went into the back court when she started her dribble. Blue had never lost team control because a defensive player had never attained contol by either holding the ball or dribbling it. Viola! Violation- but not until Blue 14 started her dribble!
RE: your other statements:
1)Blue
does have team control. Blue had team control in this case, and that team control continues until an opponent
secures control(NFHS rule 4-12-3b).The defense doesn't establish player,and thus team control,until they are holding or dribbling a live ball in bounds(NFHS rule 4-12-1). Just touching the ball does not establish player or team control. Finally, NFHS rule 4-12-4 is very explicit- "While the ball remains alive, a loose ball always remains in control of the the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or a tap for goal". NCAA rules are the same.
2)See above!