Ok, but would this be the case if against the sideline?
Example:
1. K punts.
2. K touches the ball while clearly outside field of play (the kid runs down on the punt, slides trying to stay in bounds, doesn't stay in bounds, touches a ball that is in bounds while being out of bounds)
The rules specifically say (4-2-3-1):
"...When the ball becomes dead in the field of play because of touching a person who is out of bounds, the out-of-bounds spot is fixed by the yard line through the foremost point of the ball."
While this may seem irrelavent to most, it seems like an inconsistency in the rules to me. The ball never goes out of bounds. It seems to me that the receiving team is not allowed the opportunity to play the advantage.
Example: R comes along and picks this ball up and runs it down the sideline for a touch.
Whereas, it seems like the kicking team in previous example is able to play an advantage, by being allowed to enter the endzone to keep the ball out of the endzone and have a teammate down the ball at the R 1.
|