Thread: Free Kick
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2003, 08:25pm
PSU213 PSU213 is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
This is a free kick, so the "touching of a low scrimmage kick in flight" clause does not apply. What does apply (among other things) is 2-13 (definition of force) and 8-5 (force, safety, and touchback). The bottom line from those rules is that a new force can only be applied to a grounded kick. Presuming this kick did not hit the ground before it caromed off the R player, no new force has been applied. Therefore, K's kick is the force that "put" the ball behind the GL; you have a safety.
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote