| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Dan,  
Unfortunately, you are making the same logical argument as those who say that a defender has committed a violation as soon as he breaks the OOB plane on a throw-in and therefore cannot be penalized with a T for fouling the thrower or for slapping the ball while the thrower still has it. 
 
The logic of this argument has not been accepted by the NFHS and they wrote a couple of casebook plays to say just that.  See 10.3.12 Situations A,B,and C on page 77 of the 2002-2003 casebook.  Sorry that I don't have the new one yet, so I can't cite the page in it, but we both know the play rulings won't change. 
 
In short, you penalize what the player does in addition to crossing the OOB plane.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |