Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Play #1 Technical foul on the teammate of the thrower for leaving the court. I believe that this was the proper call since he ran OOB almost the entire width of the court. When I reported the T his coach tried to say that he was forced OOB, to which I responded, "Then why did he run all the way across the gym OOB?" He put his hands on his head, said, "I don't know," rather sheepishly and sat down.
After the game I chatted with my partner about the play and told him that I probably could have gotten away with calling a violation for having more than one player OOB during a designated-spot throw-in, but I believed that that call would not have been appropriate for what this player did. I think that the violation is for cases when a teammate steps out next to the thrower and he hands him the ball or when the team runs an endline pass play not after a goal is scored. For me it is a difference between simply stepping OOB and standing there or running a fair distance OOB.
|
While I would agree with you in theory, I expect 95% of players and coaches are unaware of the T aspects of this play, so I would call the violation, warn the coach only (not the players) about the T for the future, and let it go. In fact, blow the whistle for the violation the minute he steps out. Then he won't have a chance to commit the more egregious act.
If you think the coach already knew the T rule, I'd call my assigner or commissioner after the game and let them decide what to do from there.