quote:
Originally posted by Ed M on 12-24-1999 02:36 AM
What you have here is a foul on Team B and Basket Interference on Team A. Since Team B committed the foul first, you would charge B with a personal foul and DO NOT count the basket. Team A would then be shooting 2 shots with everyone lined up as normal.
With all due respect Ed, that is incorrect.
Just because B1 commits a foul does not give the rest of his team free reign on committing basket interference. The ball is still live - if it wasn't, we couldn't count any made baskets after fouls because a goal is only scored when a live ball passes through a team's basket.
Here's the case reference for you:
quote:
NF Casebook - 9.11.2E.
Play: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. While the ball is in the cylinder above the basket, A2 touches the ball.
Ruling: The basket interference by A2 causes the ball to become dead and no goal can be scored. A1 is awarded two free throws and players occupy spaces and play continues as normal when the last free throw is made or missed.
It follows that if B2 had touched the ball while it was in the cylinder it would be defensive basket interference and you would score the goal.
So, if this ever happens in a game be sure to count the basket and give the fouled player one shot.
One more thing - this is the trail's (and center's, if applicable) responsibility. If you have BI on a goal and the lead has a foul please do NOT go tell him, "Count the basket." (something you should never say anyway). Say, "I have basket interference on so-and-so." This way the reporting official can take care of business at the table by scoring the basket and awarding the correct number of free throws.
Those of you still wondering what you should normally say instead of "Count the basket." when the ball actually
does go in?... "The ball went in."