View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2003, 03:11pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
A1 can request a time out.
A1 can CALL a time-out.

There is no definition in Rule 4 for "call", "request", or "grant". So we'll have to use the dictionary definitions. The interesting one is definition 1b for the word "call" at http://www.m-w.com: to make a request or demand
Interestingly, Coach, the full entry for definition 1b is:
Quote:
to make a request or demand <call for an investigation>
Notice that the person isn't calling an investigation. He is calling for an investigation. So analogously, the coach may certainly call for a time-out. But he can't call it. I'm happy to say that I made this very point less than a week ago. http://www.officialforum.com/showthr...8&pagenumber=5
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote