View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2003, 02:23pm
A Pennsylvania Coach A Pennsylvania Coach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by garote
All right I'm having a brain cramp. A1 is falling out of bounds..can he/she call time out.
A1 can request a time out.
A1 can CALL a time-out.

There is no definition in Rule 4 for "call", "request", or "grant". So we'll have to use the dictionary definitions. The interesting one is definition 1b for the word "call" at http://www.m-w.com: to make a request or demand

Rule 2-7-6 says that the officials' general duties include "Granting time-out." The word "grants" is also used in 5-8-3. 5-8-3 is "Grants a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out..."

So I'd say that a player or head coach "calling" time-out is, by definition, a "request", and the officials' duties are to "grant" that time-out CALLED by the player or head coach.
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out.
-- John Wooden
Reply With Quote