Thread: Two wierd plays
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2003, 07:40pm
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Essentially, I interpret the "location" of the non-designated-spot throw-in to be bound by the sidelines extended. It says "outside the endline" and "along the endline". I don't believe the endline extended is along the endline. Once the ball goes beyond the painted endline, it is beyond the permitted pass allowed.

In case I'm wrong....I'm certainly not blowing the whistle for a do-over as some have suggested. It's either a violation (as I suggest) or the count continues.
Ya know what? There is nothing you can say that will convince me BY RULE you are correct. But after talking to some very wise people I've decided you're mostly right. There are certain things I'm not gonna allow (like A1 chucking the ball up into the 10th row) and only under very limited conditions will I blow for a do-over (like A2's little brother decides to get into a play I would otherwise let go). But this discussion has been good for me, because at least if I have this play I'll confidently call it and I'll stand by it even when my supervisor calls me at midnight wanting to know what the hell happened in my game. But I doubt I'll start tearing apart what "outside the endline" vs "along the endline" means.

Anyway, good mid October discussion!
Reply With Quote