Quote:
Originally posted by mbcrowder
Batter hits ball to the fence. F3, standing where F3 started and watching the ball, is right in the path of the BR rounding first. No intent on F3, but the players collide, slowing BR. Batter hustles to third and is then caught in a rundown between 3B and home, and tagged out. Is BR protected between third and home? Is there any situation where umpire can put the runner back at third, or are the only options A) Out, or B) Run scored?
|
This is purely judgment. I'm having a hard time visualizing how I would put the runner back on 3rd, barring a second obstruction during the rundown.
With the obstruction at 1st, I'd give the runner an extra step or more (depending on how much she was slowed) for the remainder of the play, assuming she continues full-speed, non-stop.
If I judge she would have beaten the throw instead of being caught in a rundown had there been no obstruction, then home is the award. If I judge she was a dead duck regardless and should have had the sense to say at 3rd, then OUT is the call.