Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:
Originally posted by CecilOne
If F6 is on the 1st base side, I don't see how that obstructs between 2nd and 3rd. If the runner had only attempted 2nd, it was still OB and if a tag was made as the runner went around F6, I would award 2nd and not 3rd.
Where the runner is impeded also governs when the fielder is ON the base. If she slows down approaching, the OBS is before the base. If she manages to go full speed to the base and the slows down, the OBS is after the base.
|
Really? And it says that where? I don't believe it can be a clear-cut as many here would like to make it.
Just because the obstruction occured at a certain physical point does not mean that is the only area where the umpire can protect the runner. The umpire can protect them to the dugout if they chose to do so.
... snip ...
|
I wasn't talking about which base can or can't be awarded. I was responding specifically to Dakota's comment about where the runner was obstructed versus the position of the fielder. Placement of the runner is a separate question.
My point was about the location of the runner when obstructed determining the bases for the "can't be put out between" part of the rule. The second point was that
if the OBS was before 2nd and the runner was tagged before 2nd;
"I would award 2nd and not 3rd", assuming I judged the OBS allowed the tag to occur before 2nd.