View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 06, 2003, 04:30pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by CecilOne

If F6 is on the 1st base side, I don't see how that obstructs between 2nd and 3rd. If the runner had only attempted 2nd, it was still OB and if a tag was made as the runner went around F6, I would award 2nd and not 3rd.

Where the runner is impeded also governs when the fielder is ON the base. If she slows down approaching, the OBS is before the base. If she manages to go full speed to the base and the slows down, the OBS is after the base.
Really? And it says that where? I don't believe it can be a clear-cut as many here would like to make it.

Just because the obstruction occured at a certain physical point does not mean that is the only area where the umpire can protect the runner. The umpire can protect them to the dugout if they chose to do so.

Can the runner be called out after passing the base to which they were protected? Absolutely, if that is what the umpire deems proper. Can the umpire place a runner on a base passed if that was the base to which the umpire protected the runner? If the umpire thinks it is appropriate, yep!

Obstruction is so judemental, the only differences we can have about it pertains to following or ignoring any part of the rule. Of course, we may all see this type of play differently, but that's why we get the big bucks!

JMHO,
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote