View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 05, 2003, 08:46pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
And here's the good old fashioned case play!

SITUATION 4: B11 mistakenly believes he is his team’s 12th player and leaves the field before the snap (a) on his opponent’s sideline, or (b) on his sideline and enters his team box. B11 then discovers his error and returns to field on his team’s side of the neutral zone before the snap.

RULING: Legal in both (a) and (b). B11 is a player, not a replaced player nor a substitute. If done intentionally to gain an advantage, it is an unsportsmanlike conduct foul. If B11 returns to the field after the snap in either (a) or (b), it is a live-ball foul for illegal participation. (3-7-3; 9-5-1f; 9-6-2)
Reply With Quote