Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
“Offensive Goaltending Is Still A Thing ... but only on a free throw.”
Did I jump the gun on this?
I just re-read this 2025–26 Correction and Clarification.
In addition, a rule reference was incorrect as it pertained to goaltending a free throw, in which a technical foul should also be assessed for that infraction. This change has been posted on the NFHS website as follows:
*NFHS Rules Book Page 65 – Rule 9‐12 Penalty 1
See Rule 10-4-8 for the additional penalty for goaltending during a free throw.
Items marked with a single asterisk “*” have been posted on the NFHS website or addressed in a memo to state associations.
Was this Correction and Clarification only in regard to defensive goaltending on a free throw?
Offensive goaltending is not mentioned in the Correction and Clarification.
Is there now no such thing as offensive goaltending on a free throw (as I first thought)?
Do we penalize, as Raymond so elegantly interpreted, this "offensive goaltending a free throw” situation as simply an offensive free throw violation for the ball not hitting the ring in ten seconds, with no additional technical foul penalty for such an action?
|
Billy:
2024-25 NFHS Basketball Rules Book:
R4-S22-A2: Goaltending occurs when: A player touches the ball outside the cylinder during a free-throw attempt.
R9-S12: A player shall not commit goaltending, as in R4-S22.
Per your Play that we are discussing, see: “
Penalty 2: If the violation is at a team's own basket, no points can be scored, and the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation. See
Rule 10-4-9 for additional penalty for goaltending during a free throw.”
R10-S4-A9: A player shall not: Commit goaltending during a free throw.
2025-26 NFHS Basketball Rules Book:
R4-S22-A2: Goaltending occurs when: A
defensive player touches the ball outside the cylinder during a free-throw attempt.
R9-S12: A
defensive player shall not commit goaltending, as in R4-S22.
Per your Play that we are discussing, see: “
Penalty 2: If the violation is at a team's own basket, no points can be scored, and the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from one of the two the designated out-of-bounds spot[s] along the end line nearest the violation. See
Rule 10-4-9 for additional penalty for goaltending during a free throw.”
R10-S4-A8: A player shall not: Commit goaltending during a free throw.
1a: The NFHS Basketball Rules Committee did issue the Rules Book Correction for R9-S12, Penalty 2 on October 15, 2025 in it Rules Interpretations and Rules and Case Books Corrections publication (
https://nfhs.org/resources/sports/ba...ations-2025-26).
1b: This is irony in this correction because by Definition (R4-S22-A2) and Rule (R4-S22-A2 and R9-S12) Goaltending can be committed only by Defensive Players which means R9-S12, Penalty 2 is meaningless because only Defensive Players can commit Goaltending.
2: Which leads to my Ruling in my first Post in this discussion: There was no Goaltending Violation by A2 but A2’s Touching of the Ball created a FT Violation by A1 per
R9-S1-A3a.
3: And
R10-S4-A8 should read: A
defensive player shall not: Commit goaltending during a free throw.
MTD, Sr.