View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2025, 08:02pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
Situation: A1 is dribbling the ball in his frontcourt. B1 knocks the ball away and it goes out of bounds on the sideline five feet from the end line on the side of the court with the scorer’s table and team benches.
A3 is awarded a throw-in from that location. B3 commits Team B's first boundary plane violation. Where is Team A awarded the ensuing throw-in?

I don't have last year's rule book. Did the edit to 7-5-3 that is shaded now to include 9-2 change this as well? Team A now gets the ball out of the corner and to the 28' mark?
The NFHS added a clarification this season stating that a defensive boundary plane violation resulting in a warning during an AP throw-in does not give the throw-in team a completely new throw-in, instead it remains an AP throw-in. Citation is 9-2-10 Penalty section 1.

By that logic, the boundary plane violation during a throw-in for an out of bounds violation would not alter the ensuing throw-in or move it to the nearest of the 4-spot locations.

Perhaps the NFHS will release a clarification.
Reply With Quote