Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie
A1 has front court status. A1 passes the ball to A2 who while jumping from backcourt and in midair catches the ball and lands in front court.
1) Does this become a backcourt violation when A2 catches the ball or when he lands in Frontcourt?
2) Does the subsequent throw-in occur at 28 ft mark of B's front court or B's backcourt?
|
1a) The Backcourt Violation occurs the instant A2 touches the Ball.
1b) Because A2 simultaneously: i) caused the Ball to go to Team A's Backcourt and ii) was the first Player to touch the Ball in Team A's Backcourt after causing to go to Team A's Backcourt.
2a) It does not matter whether: i) A2 is over Team A's Backcourt or ii) A2 is over Team A's Frontcourt when A2 touches the Ball because the instant the Ball was touched by A2 it attained Backcourt Status. Therefore, the BC Violation by A2 was committed in Team A's Backcourt.
2b) Therefore, Team B will be awarded a Designated Spot Throw-in in Team B's Frontcourt at the Sideline 28-Foot Designated Spot nearest to where A2 committed the BC Violation.
SniperBBB referenced 2023-24 NFHS Basketball (Pre-Season) Rules Interpretations Situation 10 to verify where the ensuing Throw-in is to be taken by Team B. I was disappointed that Rules Committee had to write Situation 10 because all of the information needed to determine where the ensuing Throw-in is to be made can be found in Rule Four (Definitions) of the Rules Book.
MTD, Sr.