|
The rule was in effect in 01-02:
SITUATION 2: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant) foul with the lane cleared. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (7-5-7, 7-5-11)
But, it's been It's a HS / NCAA rules difference that has been in effect for at least 20 years:
2005-05 SITUATION 6: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant) foul with the lane cleared. Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on the end line. (7-5-7, 7-5-11)
In HS, a team retains the right to run the endline when a common foul has been committed. In NCAA (just NCAAM now -- in NCAAW all F1 / F2s are at the division line for a couple of years) it's a common foul OR an F1/F2:
1. A common foul is committed near the end line by the defense before
the bonus is in effect or a technical foul is assessed against either team;
2. A flagrant 1 or 2 personal foul by the defensive team is committed near
the end line;
3. The ball is intentionally kicked by the defensive team along the end
line during the throw-in; or
4. A timeout is granted.
Last edited by bob jenkins; Tue Sep 16, 2025 at 01:32pm.
|