View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2025, 10:23am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,480
Intentional Foul ...

Got our IAABO Inside The Lines email today with this quiz question.

After Team B scores, B-3 intentionally fouls A-3 during Team A’s end-line throw-in. A-3 is awarded two free throws, and Team A gets a designated-spot throw-in, even if it’s on the end line.

True or False?

Simple question.

I'm certain that, in a real game, I would have awarded a run the endline throwin.

I got it wrong, dead wrong, no tricky wording, no way to blame the NFHS for ambiguities, just dead wrong.

Answer: True. This differs from a common foul where Team A retains the right to move along the end line.

Basketball rules are difficult.

And I don't believe that I can blame this one on forty-five years of rule changes confusing me, as I often do.

Basketball rules are difficult.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Sep 16, 2025 at 10:28am.
Reply With Quote