View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 12, 2025, 06:43am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
It took NFHS/IAABO 6 years to come up with a definitive ruling.
Here is my post on this website
https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104810-inadvertent-whistle.html
Here is the ruling.
[B]4.12.2C Player And/Or Team Control
4.12.2 SITUATION C: With 3.9 seconds remaining in the 4th quarter, A-1’s throw-in pass is deflected into the air by B-1. While the ball is in the air, an official inadvertently sounds his/her whistle. After the whistle, the game clock still shows 3.9 seconds remaining in the quarter. RULING: The clock shall remain at 3.9 seconds,
I agree with the Team Control concept, but the ball was touched and some time should come off the clock. A previous interp included some phrase such as "likely tenths of seconds" in a similar play.
Reply With Quote