|
It took NFHS/IAABO 6 years to come up with a definitive ruling.
Here is my post on this website
https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104810-inadvertent-whistle.html
Here is the ruling.
4.12.2C Player And/Or Team Control
4.12.2 SITUATION C: With 3.9 seconds remaining in the 4th quarter, A-1’s throw-in pass is deflected into the air by B-1. While the ball is in the air, an official inadvertently sounds his/her whistle. After the whistle, the game clock still shows 3.9 seconds remaining in the quarter. RULING: The clock shall remain at 3.9 seconds, with Team A awarded a throw-in at the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was deflected by B-1. While the ball remains live, a loose ball always remains in control of the team whose player last had control. Team A maintained control, and they will be awarded a throw-in nearest to where the ball last in contact with a player on the court when the whistle sounded. The officials would not have rule support to take time off the clock as no player on the court ever gained control of the ball(4-12-4, 4-36-2a, 4-42-5a)
Rationale: Other case book plays state that team control during throw-in only apply to offensive fouls. This clarification expands that concept to include inadvertent whistles. In cases such as this, control remains with the team that completed the throw-in. However, since no control was not established on the court, no rule based counts (closely guarded, 3-second, etc.) would be in effect. Unless officials have definite knowledge, NFHS rules do not support taking time off the clock. Previously, because team control was tied only to offensive fouls, officials may have mistakenly used the alternating-possession arrow in this situation to resume play. This update provides clearer guidance for managing inadvertent whistles and addressing timing situations without penalizing the team in control
I don't like how they said 'officials may have mistakenly used the alternating-possession'.
|