Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I *think* it's kind of like indicating which player committed a net fault in USAV.
From the PAVO official's manual:
Particularly on a play near the second referee’s antenna, if you
see an attacked ball touch an opposing blocker, rebound back to
the attacker’s side, and then land out of bounds on the attacker’s
side, quickly extend an arm and open hand toward the blocker that
caused the ball to go out. If, in your opinion, the blocker did not
touch the attacked ball, and the ball rebounds from the net tape
and then lands out of bounds on the attacker’s side, extend an arm
and open hand toward the attacker. This assistance allows the first
referee to signal the correct result of the rally. Then mimic the first
referee’s point signal
|
Thanks. I don’t recall ever seen this being used. From the responses here - it appears nor has anyone else. Seems it could be a source of confusion, instead of clarification. I can picture myself extending my arm to point to the attacker just to have my R1 mistake this for me “leading”/pointing to the team that should win the rally. TBH, I don’t see me successfully converting any of my old timer colleagues to this any time soon.