Thread: R2 assistance
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 17, 2025, 08:41pm
IK13 IK13 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 48
R2 assistance

Question:
Quote:
After tight net play during which a blocker may or may not have touched a ball and the ball subsequently lands “out” on the attacker’s side of the net, the second referee may assist the first referee by quickly indicating the team at fault with an open hand. Is this correct or incorrect?
Explanation:
Quote:
NCAA/PAVO Officiating Techniques
It is only necessary for the second referee to indicate the team at fault; it is not necessary to signal "out." This indication is done by extending the arm, open hand. If necessary, this technique may be used for an antenna fault as well. The second referee should not “lead” the result; instead, mimic the first referee. This communication technique should be part of the referees’ prematch discussion.
I might have thicker than usual brain fog today, but I don't get what are they talking about. Where do you point with that "extended arm, open, hand” so it is not "leading"?

I guess I am "leading" when my R1 gives me the stare in the above situation. Have been asked several times to do so during a prematch discussion too. If I have time, I might only step to the side at fault, but if that's not enough and the stare stays - I'll still "lead".

Last edited by IK13; Mon Aug 18, 2025 at 12:38am.
Reply With Quote