View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 26, 2025, 06:46am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Libero Redesignation

NFHS Rules

The libero is injured and cannot continue. The player whom the libero replaced re-enters. The coach re-designates a libero (L2). Can L2 enter immediately, or must L2 wait for one rally? (Yes, I know that the player who re-entered can be replaced by a sub.)

Rule 10-4-1c indicates "One libero replacement ... per dead ball/rally" and the team satisfied that when the regular player reentered. So, last year when this situation came up, we were clearly told that the team must wait a rally before having L2 enter.

But, new / revised cases 10.4.2B and 10.4.3D indicates that L2 can enter immediately. Is this an unannounced rules change, or were we wrong last year?

How do USAV and NCAA handle this?
Reply With Quote