2025-26 NFHS Basketball Rule Change
10-4-4b: This rule prohibits players from illegally contacting the backboard or ring in ways that create an unfair advantage or interfere with a scoring attempt. This rule is designed to maintain fair play and protect the integrity of scoring opportunities by penalizing actions affecting the outcome of a shot, with a technical foul.
On a recent “Slapping the Backboard” IAABO “You Make the Call” video, the IAABO commentary included this:
However, this does not eliminate the possibility of a technical foul being charged to an offending player if contacting the backboard was considered an unsporting act. In situations where the player is "showboating" or "venting frustration," a technical foul could be charged in those instances.
I assumed that intentionally slapping the backboard was no longer a technical foul but could be basket interference if it causes the backboard or basket to vibrate, while the ball is on or within the basket, touching the backboard, or within the cylinder.
2025-26 NFHS Basketball Rule Change
4-6-1a & b (NEW): This rule change clarifies and expands the definition of basket interference to include additional actions that unfairly affect the ball while it is in a scoring position. Basket interference now occurs when a player slaps or strikes the backboard, causing the backboard or basket to vibrate, while he ball is on or within the basket, touching the backboard, or within the cylinder.
I also assumed that a technical foul for illegally contacting the backboard was left in the rule book to prevent actions such as Ralph Sampson’s controversial basket against Brigham Young in the 1981 NCAA tournament when the seven foot, four inch Virginia Cavalier All-American center dunked the ball with his free hand braced against the backboard, and was
not left in the rule book for intentionally slapping the backboard.
Is IAABO correct, in view of the recent rule change, to interpret intentionally slapping the backboard as a technical foul?
In view of the recent rule change, can we
both award the basket (basket interference)
and charge a technical foul (intentionally slapping the backboard)?