Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
1. Agreed
2. That's what I'd like it to be, but the Pre-Season Guide from NFHS / RefMag includes this play and describes it as legal (Page 2, Play 1c), with this description: simultaneous contact between opponents is considered to be next contacted by a teammate. We -- or at least I -- (in IL) got the rules books last week, but the case book wasn't included, yet, and I don't see the current year interps on the NFHS website yet.
|
Debate wasn't so much much about the meaning of the signal. Moreso about creating confusion with double contacts being legal on first and second hits . Some were worried about fans/coaches' confusion. I think using the illegal hit/prolonged contact signal would lead to confusion the other way.