View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 22, 2025, 11:19am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMadera View Post
1. It's an illegal (versus legal) double contact. There are multiple situations in which the same signal can mean different things (like illegal block and screening).

2. Unless they go with the newer USAV interp, which is not likely, it will result in a double contact unless the ruling is that the attacker touches it first. This will likely be answered at the preseason rules clinics.
1. Agreed

2. That's what I'd like it to be, but the Pre-Season Guide from NFHS / RefMag includes this play and describes it as legal (Page 2, Play 1c), with this description: simultaneous contact between opponents is considered to be next contacted by a teammate. We -- or at least I -- (in IL) got the rules books last week, but the case book wasn't included, yet, and I don't see the current year interps on the NFHS website yet.

Last edited by bob jenkins; Tue Jul 22, 2025 at 12:00pm.
Reply With Quote