View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 22, 2025, 08:51am
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Just looked at dozens of internet images of backboards.

It would be very rare, but not totally impossible, for a layup to touch the backboard below the level of the ring and to then be also touched by a defender before it reaches the level of the ring.

It's not just a hypothetical question on a rules exam question.

Maybe a once in an officiating career real life game call.

Maybe we do need to get it clarified, maybe such a goaltend might not need to be above the level of the ring and still be illegal goaltending?
Again, the college rule only part fo the ball has to be above the rim in this case. I am saying that they appeared to adopt the college rule, but has not made it clear if this part of the rule is going to be unique. I get it is a test question, but also needs to be clarified as when this was announced there was no mention of the difference. The surveys also asked about potential improvements. Well, most people probably are thinking of the college rule, and we just want to be sure that there is no nuance to the rule.

Just want some clarification, that is all.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote