View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 17, 2025, 01:25pm
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,554
Quote:
4-22-3 (NEW): A new provision clarifies that once the ball makes contact with the backboard during a shot attempt, it is automatically considered to be on its downward flight. Therefore, if a defensive player touches the ball after it has hit the backboard—and the ball still has a chance to enter the basket—a goaltending violation is to be called. This addition resolves a common area of confusion for officials, coaches, and players regarding when a ball is considered to be descending. The rule aligns with the intent of protecting legitimate shot attempts and offers a more objective standard for determining goaltending after backboard contact.
I am still not reading where it says the ball must be above the cylinder to be considered a GT. This really needs to be clarified because when the NCAA Men's side change the rule, they clearly made this part of the rule and clarified that portion of the prievouls rule was removed. This still sounds like they either have not changed the rule to to college rule or they have not stated very well if that is the case.

This is going to be a big part of the change. But I guess we will still have to see.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote