Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond
He didn't lose control of his dribble. He jumped and then dropped the ball when a defender closed out ... saying he lost control on that last play is inaccurate and is relevant to how the play is adjudicated.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man
... should have been a whistled for illegal dribble immediately ... Starting a dribble without a pivot foot to be exact. Doesn't matter if he touches it as the announcers say.
|
We've been having this debate (usually in regard to NFHS not NCAA rules) here on the Forum for as long as I've been a Forum member (2005).
Lots of odd things can happen once a player in control of the ball decides to become airborne.
Many of these situations are listed in my annual most misunderstood basketball rules list (a list that is not "certified" in any way by the NFHS, but it has been cross referenced with NFHS rules, NFHS casebook plays, and NFHS annual interpretations by me, and many other Forum members, many, many times for NFHS "accuracy" over the past twenty years).
If a defender puts a hand(s) on a ball controlled by a shooter (or passer) who is airborne, such that the airborne player is unable to release the ball, it is a held ball. If, in another similar situation, the airborne player loses control of the ball because of the touch, then this is simply a blocked shot. It is not a violation for that player to start a dribble at that point. If, in a similar situation, the defender simply touches the ball, and the airborne player chooses not to release the ball, and returns to the floor holding the ball, it’s a traveling violation.
When an airborne player tries for goal (or pass), sees that the try (or pass) will be blocked, purposely drops the ball, and touches the ball after it hits the floor, that player has traveled by starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. If an airborne player is preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt (or pass), and instead of releasing the ball, fumbles the ball (while still in the air), drops the ball, and then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball, it’s a traveling violation.
In the situation last night, one (though not all) can interpret this as a very legal but very ugly start of a very bad bounce pass.