Thread: Resume Play
View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 05, 2024, 11:10am
SNIPERBBB SNIPERBBB is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
NFHS Rule 7-3 says otherwise. "If the ball goes out of bounds and was last touched simultaneously by two opponents, both of whom are inbounds or out of bounds, or if the official is in doubt as to who last touched the ball or if the officials disagree, play shall be resumed by the team entitled to the alternating-possession throw-in at the spot nearest to where the out-of-bounds violation occurred". There is no mention of team control in Rule 7-3.
NCAA Men's Rule 6-4 refers to a ball that was "last touched simultaneously by two opponents, both of whom were inbounds or out of bounds, or when the officials are in doubt as to who last touched the ball".

NCAA Women's Rule 6-4.1(b) is identical to the NCAA Men's rule.

I
I understand the rule fine. You're not understanding my post. We're talking about double fouls that occurs during a live ball and where they can go straight AP.. simultaneous touching is always going to be a deadball thing.if we have a a looseball scenario where there a simultaneous touch and before the ball goes out of bounds and there's a double foul, we go POI, I. This case it would be whoever had TC at the time or if not TC because of a try or during a jump ball, we e go AP...
Reply With Quote