Thread: Resume Play
View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 03, 2024, 12:51am
ilyazhito ilyazhito is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,177
NFHS Rule 7-3 says otherwise. "If the ball goes out of bounds and was last touched simultaneously by two opponents, both of whom are inbounds or out of bounds, or if the official is in doubt as to who last touched the ball or if the officials disagree, play shall be resumed by the team entitled to the alternating-possession throw-in at the spot nearest to where the out-of-bounds violation occurred". There is no mention of team control in Rule 7-3.
NCAA Men's Rule 6-4 refers to a ball that was "last touched simultaneously by two opponents, both of whom were inbounds or out of bounds, or when the officials are in doubt as to who last touched the ball".

NCAA Women's Rule 6-4.1(b) is identical to the NCAA Men's rule.
Reply With Quote