View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 03, 2024, 09:14am
FMadera FMadera is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 761
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbsbvb83 View Post
In the third set of this afternoon's match, Texas attacked the ball into Wisconsin's block. The blocked ball then crossed the net and landed out-of-bounds on Texas' side. The R1 signaled "point" to Texas followed by "ball touched" off Wisconsin. Is "ball touched" the proper mechanic for NCAA? My only officiating experience is with NFHS mechanics, where "out-of-bounds" would be appropriate in that situation.
In the situation you described, the call is out.

I don't remember that situation happening, and I was courtside. So I wonder if something else might have happened. I did see one play that kinda matched, ball went behind R1, she couldn't see, didn't see the LJ signal antenna (ball was in the crowd), not sure if R2 gave assistance.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee

Last edited by FMadera; Tue Sep 03, 2024 at 02:01pm.
Reply With Quote