View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 12, 2024, 10:32am
FMadera FMadera is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 764
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
But the question is what if A2 touched it before B1? That would eliminate the illegal attack. So can the officials review if A2 touched it first? It's a "touch" decision. I'm wondering if it falls into the touch category for review.
The officials should determine, prior to taking the challenge, if the result of the challenge would remove how the point would go. If they determine, "Ok, if the other person touched it first, it would be illegal block instead," then we're not going through the challenge. Getting the wrong person touching it, in this case, doesn't constitute a get out of jail free card.

They're still working on it, but the original question very well may wind up being a valid challenge in terms of "are we calling a double or not." Stay tuned...
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote