Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
B1 jumps and catches a rebound after a try and while B1 is still airborne B1 starts a dribble by pushing the ball to the floor. Legal.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
Well, I remember there was some non-obvious condition to starting a dribble that was brought up by someone here.
|
2000-2001 NFHS Basketball Interpretations Supplement #1 Situation 1: A1 is an airborne shooter preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt. Instead of releasing the ball on the try, A1 fumbles the ball (while still in the air) and drops it. A1 then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball. Ruling: Traveling violation. While airborne the ball must be released for a try or pass.
Also (from Misunderstood Rules list):
If a defender puts a hand(s) on a ball controlled by a shooter (or passer) who is airborne, such that the airborne player is unable to release the ball, it is a held ball. If, in another similar situation, the airborne player loses control of the ball because of the touch, then this is simply a blocked shot. It is not a violation for that player to start a dribble at that point. If, in a similar situation, the defender simply touches the ball, and the airborne player chooses not to release the ball, and returns to the floor holding the ball, it’s a traveling violation.
When an airborne player tries for goal (or pass), sees that the try (or pass) will be blocked, purposely drops the ball, and touches the ball after it hits the floor, that player has traveled by starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. If an airborne player is preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt (or pass), and instead of releasing the ball, fumbles the ball (while still in the air), drops the ball, and then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball, it’s a traveling violation.