View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 12, 2024, 08:10pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,332
Turnover ...



OK you college guys, what's the rule and interpretation of this call?

Does a coaching box violation (as stated by the announcers) warning (no free throws taken) result in a loss of possession?

Does the college rule differ from the high school rule where is high school player is only out of bounds if they touch an "object," not a "person", who is out of bounds?

To be out of bounds, a player must touch the floor, or some object, on or outside a boundary line. People are not considered to be objects, so if a player inadvertently touches someone who is out of bounds (another player, a photographer, a coach, an official, etc.), without gaining an advantage, is not considered an out of bounds violation.

Or, most likely, maybe because the touch wasn't inadvertent (although from the player's perspective, it was inadvertent)?

It appeared that he coach was actually out of bounds (one foot out, one foot in).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Apr 13, 2024 at 05:18pm.
Reply With Quote