NCAW: (emphasis added)
A.R. 264. Is it traveling when a player:
(1) Falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining a
pivot foot; or
(2) Falls to the playing court on both knees while holding the ball without
maintaining a pivot foot; or
(3) Gains control of the ball while sliding on the playing court and then,
because of momentum, rolls or slides, after which the player passes or
starts a dribble before getting to their feet?
RULING: (1) and (2) Yes, when the pivot foot is not maintained
because it is virtually impossible not to move the pivot foot when
falling to the playing floor.
(3) No. The player may pass, shoot, start a dribble, or request a timeout.
Once the player has the ball and is no longer sliding, they may not roll
over. When flat on their back, the player may sit up without violating.
When the player puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to
touch the ball, it also is traveling. When a player rises to their feet while
holding the ball and moves the pivot foot, it is traveling. When a player
falls to one knee while holding the ball, it is traveling if the pivot foot
moves.
|