View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 08, 2023, 02:28pm
FMadera FMadera is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 764
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Patty Rolf and Michael O'Connor working this match right now. On the fourth match point for Texas, Texas libero uses an overhand set in front of the attack line and the ball is then dumped, resulting in an illegal attack call from the R1. Point to Tennessee. But nearly simultaneously, the Tennessee blocker contacts the top of the net. Texas challenges that there should've been a net call.

What is Michael O'Connor looking for in the replay? Is he looking at WHEN the net was contacted? Before/after the attack hit is completed? Is there something else that would impact the ruling?

This is a great match, by the way!!
I haven't spoken to Michael about this, so I'm just guessing.

In no particular order, he would be looking for:

1. If there was a net fault by rule;
2. Who, if any, committed it first;
3. If the Tennessee MB contacted the ball prior to the net, which leads to;
4. What fault happened first, the net, or the completed illegal attack

In order to reverse the call, looking at the replays, he would need to be able to definitively show that the net by Tennessee happened prior to the completion of the illegal attack. I'm guessing he neither confirm nor reverse the original decision, hence the "call stands" signal.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote