Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
.Look at Rules 4-13-1 & 2. Those articles define Frontcourt & Backcourt. Thus the Division line is consider a Boundary line. So, the result is a Backcourt violation with a throw-in at the 28' mark (NFHS)
|
4-13 Court Areas
ART. 1 A team’s frontcourt consists of that part of the court between its end line and the nearer edge of the division line, including its basket and the inbounds part of the backboard.
ART. 2 A team’s backcourt consists of the rest of the court, including the entire division line and the opponent’s basket and inbounds part of the opponent’s backboard.
More evidence for purpose and intent of a backcourt violation, but rule language clearly says “boundary”, and the division line, while definitely part of the backcourt, is neither an endline, nor is it a sideline, and thus, isn’t a boundary
9-3-1 Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a
boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
4-9-1:
Boundary lines of the court consist of end lines and sidelines.