View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2023, 10:55pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I was just discussing this very rare play with Mike Goodwin.

A1 in their frontcourt is dribbling parallel to, and very near, the division line.

While the ball is not in contact with A1's hand, A1 steps on the division line.

A1 never is touching both the ball and the division line at the same time.

Ball never touches the division line or any other part of backcourt.

It’s not an interrupted dribble.

A1 has both feet in the frontcourt the next time he touches the ball.

Sounds like a backcourt violation because of:

9-3-1 Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.

However:

4-9-1: Boundary lines of the court consist of end lines and sidelines.

The division line is not an end line, nor is it a sideline, and thus, it is not a boundary line.

No backcourt violation?

Most of us (including me) would probably still call this a backcourt violation.

What say you?

I am watching a simulcast of the Big 10 and ACC Championships late in the 3rd QTs of both games so my comment may not be as good as my normal Pulitzer Prize winner composing


I have a Backcourt Violation!


1) We all know the Rule for an Offensive Player who is Dribbling the Ball from completely in the Backcourt to completely in the Front Court and this Rule does not apply to an Offensive Player once the Ball has acquired Front Court Status.

2) Yes, the Division Line is not a Boundary Line but for determining Floor Violations by an Offensive Player who has PC of the Ball it has to considered the same as a Boundary Line.

3) We all know that when A1, who is Dribbling, steps on a Boundary Line, even if he/she is not touching the Ball, is considered to have made the Ball go Out-of-Bounds.

4) Therefore, the reasoning in (3) is the same logic/reasoning for the Dribbler in the Play that Billy has presented to the Forum.

5) Therefore, we have a Backcourt Violation.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote