View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2023, 07:10am
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,452
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
While the "just touching the division line" for a backcourt violation 9-9 PENALTY makes it perfectly clear to inbound the ball at one of the "four special spots", the penalty does not match the "four special spots" rule language as written.

7-5-2 thru 4: Establishes four throw-in spots (the nearest 28-foot mark along each sideline or the nearest spot 3-feet outside the lane line on the end line) when a team gains or retains possession in their frontcourt after the opponent commits a violation, a common foul prior to the bonus, or the ball becomes dead (i.e. inadvertent whistle or a held ball).

Being deemed backcourt by only stepping on the painted division line (and not over the line) probably should have been listed as an "exception" to the rule.
The division line by rule is considered the BC by rule already. That is why when you dribble the ball from the BC to the FC, you have to completely cross the division line to retain FC status. So not sure why this is such an issue, when by rule that is clearly the case in ten-second counts and calling a BCV. So it only makes sense that you would rule this as one of the 4 spots (specifically the 28-foot marks).

Even when they put this rule in college, we would put the ball at the 28-foot mark when this rule was first put in. It was only later that the NCAA wanted this at the division line and wanted a full reset on the shot clock. But before it was understood to put that violation in the FC (the rule is basically the same).

I do not know why there needs to be an exception when you have clearly violated in the BC just like you committing a traveling violation without crossing the division line too. What is the difference?

Let us get into "Good Trouble."
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote