View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 05, 2023, 12:02am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I am not quoting the rule right now, but every BCV goes to the 28-foot mark. It says that in the penalty portion of the rule. If you are touching the division line, the division line is in the backcourt, so you put the new throw-in at the 28-foot mark.

The NCAA has a different interpretation because they also have different considerations like the shot clock and reset situations that the NF does not have across the board at this time.

Peace
I don't like that interpretation for one reason. The division line is in the backcourt of the team getting the ball. That should, logically, make the throwin in the backcourt (at the division line) of the team getting the ball. But, of course, you have to go by the NFHS's interpretation regardless of whether it is logical or not.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote