Thread: Traveling
View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 09, 2001, 10:25am
Indy_Ref Indy_Ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Greater Indianapolis Area
Posts: 436
Send a message via Yahoo to Indy_Ref
Re: A little twist on the subject

Quote:
Originally posted by glind

Now the twist!
If the player has one foot on the floor and one knee and then recovers the ball, can she get up?

I say no because of rule 4:43.5b but I called it and my partner and the coach both thought I was wrong because she had her pivot "FOOT" I didn't no which rule it was and I have not seen these guys since, now that I know which rule. I was right, wasn't I?

One more thing can she start her dribble and get off the floor?
I believe the player can dribble first, then get up...just as if he were lying on the floor, started his dribble, BEFORE he got up.

Citing the same 4-43-5b, I do NOT believe she can stand up BEFORE putting the ball on the floor.

[Edited by Indy_Ref on Jan 9th, 2001 at 09:28 AM]
Reply With Quote